Table of Contents

Managing Users and Permissions

Jennifer Sneider Updated by Jennifer Sneider

The ability to add or remove users or edit user permissions exists in the Access Menu. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen to access your Production Access Menu.

User Access Icon
Note: You can see which users have recently been added to the production in the Activity Feed on the Production Homepage.

Assigning a Department Head

Only the Production Owner can assign a Department Head. You must add a Department Head before you can add users to that department.

To assign a Department Head:

  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Click Add Dept Head under a specific department.
  3. Assign a new user by entering their email on the left, or select an existing user from the drop-down menu on the right.
  4. Click Save.
Add Department Head

Adding Users to a Department

Only Department Heads and other users in the department with the Add User permission can add users to a department.

To add users to your department:

  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Under your department, click Details.
  3. Click +Add User.
  4. Enter the email for a new user or select an existing user from the drop-down menu.
  5. Set the user's permissions and click Next

Note: If you would like a user to have full access, select Yes for all permissions except "Read Only?"

Adding a Read-Only User to a Department

Read-Only users can view a department's information but do not have the ability to add or edit anything. Users with permissions to multiple departments can use the Department Selector in the top navigation bar to view multiple departments at once.

Make sure to select No for the Edit Scenes & Characters permission for the user to truly be Read-Only. It is possible to select Yes for both Read Only and Edit Scenes & Characters and have the user able to edit Scenes and Characters.
  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Under your department, click Details.
  3. Click +Add User.
  4. Enter the email for a new user or select an existing user from the drop-down menu.
  5. When adding a Read-Only user to your department, set "Read Only?" to Yes.
Pro Tip: If you are on a subscription plan, read-only users do not count toward your user limit.


Deleting a User from a Production

  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Under your department, click Details.
  3. Click the Trash Can icon in line with the person you want to delete.
  4. Click Remove in the form to confirm the deletion.


Adjusting User Permissions

  1. While logged in to the department where you want to make adjustments, click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen
Access Menu
  1. Under your department, click Details.

  1. Click the Pencil icon inline with the person whose permissions you want to adjust.
  1. Adjust permissions as desired and click Save.

Guide to User Permission Options
  • Read Only? When set to Yes, the user can view a department's information but does not have the ability to add or edit anything. This setting is superseded by the Edit Scenes & Characters permission, so if a user is marked as Read-Only and has Edit Scenes & Characters marked yes, the user is still able to edit Scenes & Characters but unable to add notes or photos. 
  • Edit Scenes & Characters? When set to Yes, the user can create and edit Scenes and Characters. When set to No, the user cannot make any changes to Scenes or Characters.
  • Add Users allows/disallows the ability to invite other users into the production.
  • View Fitting/Research Gallery allows/disallows access to photos marked as Research.
  • Budget Access allows/disallows access to Budgeting.
  • View Actor Contact Info allows/disallows access to Actor contact information.
  • Web Access allows/disallows access to the web app. This option is only available if the Production Owner has enabled Security Settings to allow Mobile Only users.


Limiting a User’s Episode Access

To limit the episodes which a user can access:

  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Under your department, click Details.
  3. Click the Episode Access button in line with the person whose episodes you want to limit.
  4. Check the boxes for episodes to which you want to grant access. Leave boxes blank for episodes you want to limit.
  5. Click Save.


Changing a Department Head

Only the current Department Head or Production Owner can change this position.

  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Click Change under a specific department.
  3. Assign a new user by entering in their email on the left or select an existing user from the drop-down menu on the right,
  4. Click Save.


Changing the Production Owner

Only the current Production Owner can change this position. If the Production Owner leaves the production, you must transfer this role to a new user.

To change the Production Owner:

  1. Click the Access Menu icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Click Change Owner under Production Owner in the center of the screen.
  3. Assign a new user by entering in their email on the left or select an existing user from the drop-down menu on the right.
  4. Click Save.
Pro Tip: Assign the Production Owner role to someone from production (usually the UPM or POC) to avoid production slowdown in the event a crew member exits the production.
If you are unable to reach the current Production Owner, SyncOnSet can reassign the role for you. For security reasons, please email the following to support@synconset.com:
1. A signed letter on production letterhead from either the UPM or POC stating the name and email of the new PO and that we have permission to make the transfer.
2. A current call sheet or crew list that shows the UPM or POC's name and title for verification.

How did we do?

Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)

Managing Approvals

Contact