Table of Contents

Managing Scenes

Jennifer Sneider Updated by Jennifer Sneider

Any user with edit permissions for Scenes and Characters that is not in read-only mode can add or edit Scenes. This article will cover the ways to add or edit Scenes.

Click Scenes in the top navigation bar to get to the Scene Index. There you can Add, Edit, Omit, Clone, or Delete Scenes one-by-one or in bulk. 

The Scene Index has a scrollable table with a scrollbar that is independent from the page itself. To access all of your Scenes, use the table's scrollbar:

You can also perform these actions in a Scene View page.

Warning: Scenes are shared with the entire production. If you are working with multiple departments, keep this in mind before making big changes to your Scenes.

Adding Scenes 

Scenes are automatically created when you upload your first script or a revised script. 

To add new or missing Scenes:

  1. Click Add at the top right of the table.
  2. Select the Episode(s) and enter the Scene number (other fields can be added at any time).
  3. To Save the Scene:
    1. Click Save to add that Scene.
    2. Click Duplicate to create that scene and make a copy.
    3. Click (+) to create and add another Scene.


Editing Scenes

You can edit Scenes one-by-one on the Scene Index or a Scene View page. You can also edit your Scenes in bulk. 

Edit multiple Scenes at once from the Scene Index:
  1. Click Edit All on the right-hand side of the page.
    1. Click the Choose Columns icon if you want to edit fields that aren’t currently in your view.
  2. Make your edits.
  3. Click Save when done.

Edit a single Scene from the Scene Index:
  1. Click the Ellipsis inline with the Scene you want to edit.
  2. Click Edit in the dropdown menu.
  3. Make your edits.
  4. Click Save when done.

Edit a single Scene from a Scene View page:
  1. Click the Sidebar Ellipsis.
  2. Select Edit from the Options menu.
  3. Make your edits.
  4. Click Save.

Pro Tip: You will be logged out of the web app if you are inactive for 2 hours. Editing does not count as activity, so remember to save your work often!


Omitting Scenes

Scenes are automatically marked as Omitted if they have been removed via a revised script. Omitted Scenes say OMIT in red next to the Scene # and the table row is greyed out.

To omit a Scene on the Scene Index:

  1. Click the Ellipsis inline with the Scene you want to omit.
  2. Click Omit in the dropdown menu.

The omitted Scene will still be visible in the Scenes Index. If you need to revise the Scene, you can un-omit it using the Ellipsis inline with the Scene.

Pro Tip: You can filter your Scene Index so omitted Scenes are not displayed. Click the Filter icon, select Hide Omitted, and click Done. When this filter is on, the icon will be highlighted yellow.


Cloning Scenes

Cloning a Scene creates an exact duplicate of the Scene including Characters, Changes, Looks, Sets, and Props.

To clone a Scene from the Scene Index:

  1. Click the Ellipsis inline with the Scene you want to duplicate.
  2. Click Clone in the Options menu.
  3. Give your new Scene a Scene number, which can be unique or the same as the original.
  4. To save the Scene:
    1. Click Save to add that Scene.
    2. Click (+) to create and add another duplicate Scene.


Deleting Scenes

Warning: Deleting a Scene permanently removes it from the production and cannot be undone.
Delete a Scene from the Scene Index:
  1. Click the Ellipsis inline with the Scene you want to delete.
  2. Select Delete in the Options menu.
  3. Confirm by clicking Delete in the pop-up window.

Delete a Scene from a Scene View page:
  1. Click the Sidebar Ellipsis.
  2. Select Delete from the Options menu.
  3. Click Delete in the Confirm Delete form.

How did we do?

Customizing the Scene Index

Adding/Updating Shoot Dates

Contact