Table of Contents

Adding Studio Users and Managing Permissions

Jennifer Sneider Updated by Jennifer Sneider

Adding Team Members

Studio Owners and Studio Managers can access this feature, which is available to teams on Advanced and Basic plans.

Adding Admin Users to a Studio

  1. Select Studio on the top navigation bar.
  2. Click Admin on the top navigation bar.
  3. Click the orange (+) button.
  4. Enter the user's email address.
  5. Choose the appropriate role for the user: Studio Manager or Series/Franchise Owner.
    1. If the user is a Series/Franchise Owner, be sure to select the Series/Franchise.
  6. Confirm the permissions you are adding for this person and click Save.
Adding an Additional Franchise/Series to a User

If an existing user in your Studio needs access to multiple Franchises or Series, you can add as many projects to a Franchise/Series Owner as necessary.

Pro Tip: If your Studio has a lot of users, use command+f to search the webpage for the user's name.
  1. Select Studio on the top navigation bar.
  2. Click Admin on the top navigation bar.
  3. Click the line of the user you want to update.
  4. Click the line of the Series/Franchise to reveal a list of all projects.
  5. Use the search bar or scroll the list to check the box next to the Series/Franchises you'd like to add.
  6. Click Save.

Adding Users to a Division

  1. Select Division in the top navigation bar.
  2. Click the Division name on the Division Index.
  3. Click Team in the top navigation bar.
  4. Click the orange (+) button.
  5. Enter the user's email address, title/role on production, and select the permissions to grant.
  6. Click Save.

User Permissions

Permissions allow users to view different productions (Features or TV Series) within a Studio, different Divisions (Warehouses), or different departments within a Project. Asset Hub users have different permissions depending upon their role at the Studio or on the Project.

Permissions also allow the use of different features within Asset Hub.

Note: Advanced permission settings may not be available at your Studio.

Studio Owner (one per Studio)

This is the highest level of access, managed by the Account Manager at SyncOnSet. The Studio Owner has full read and write access to everything in the Studio.

  • Added to all Series/Franchises across the Studio
  • Can create, update, and delete Assets
  • Can add and remove users in any Series/Franchise
  • Can move Assets anywhere within the Studio
  • Can create new Series, Franchises, Seasons, or Projects
  • Can create new Departments, Fields, and Dispositions 
  • Can upload Asset Transaction Files
  • Can add new Studio Managers
  • Can remove any Studio Manager

Studio Manager (many, per Series/Franchise)

These users have full access to all Projects and Divisions in a Studio.

  • Added to all Series/Franchises across the Studio
  • Can create, update, and delete Assets
  • Can add and remove users in any Series/Franchise
  • Can move Assets anywhere within the Studio
  • Can create new Series, Franchises, Seasons, or Projects
  • Can create new Departments and manage Fields
  • Can upload Asset Transaction Files
  • Can add new Studio Managers
  • Can be granted permission to be an Initial Approver for Requests

Series/Franchise Owners (many, per Series/Franchise)

  • Added to all Departments in their Series/Franchise(s)
  • Can create and update Assets
  • Can add and remove users in their Series/Franchise
  • Can move Assets from Project to Project within their Series/Franchise
  • Can be granted permission to view historical Assets (Assets that have moved off the Series/Franchise)
  • Can be granted permission to view all Studio Assets (but can only edit Assets in the Series/Franchise)

Series/Franchise Users (many, per Series/Franchise)

  • Added to individual departments within a Series/Franchise
  • Can create Assets within their individual departments within a Series/Franchise

Divisions Team Member (many, per Division)

Available permissions include:

  • Can edit Assets
  • View restricted Asset information
  • View Asset Detail page
  • View all Studio Assets (but can only edit Assets in the Division)

Adjustable Permissions at the Studio and Division level

Initial Approver Permission

Without this permission, a Studio Manager will not be able to:

  • View Asset Requests and offer initial approval or denial

View Historical Assets

Without this permission, Series/Franchise Owners will not be able to:

  • View any Assets that have moved out of the Franchise

Edit Assets

Without this permission, Division Users will not be able to:

  • Add or remove Assets from Events
  • Create Events 
  • Edit Event information 
  • Move Assets to/from a Series/Franchise or Division they don't have edit permissions in

View Restricted Asset Information

This permission is required if a Division User has Edit Assets permission.

Without this permission, Division Users will not be able to:

  • View financial information or other details as determined by the Studio.

View Asset Detail Page

Without this permission, Division Users will not be able to:

  • View full Asset Details, which includes Asset History, Transaction Information, Attachments, and other details. 

With this permission, Division Users and Series/Franchise Owners can access Studio Asset Search. They will be able to see and search all Assets at the Studio, but they will only be able to view Asset Details or edit Assets in the Series/Franchise(s) or Division they have permission to.

  • Series/Franchise Owners can have this permission enabled on the Team page in the Series/Franchise.
  • Division users can have this permission enabled on the Team page in the Division.

How did we do?

Managing Events

Customizing Fields Within Departments

Contact